From Name:
From Email:
To Name:
To Email:

Optional Message:

AMO physicists Haroche and Wineman awarded Nobel Prize

from NSBP

For their groundbreaking discoveries in atomic physics and quantum optics, Serge Haroche and David Wineman were today awarded the 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics. Haroche is the Chair of Quantum Physics at the Collège de France, and Wineman is the leader of the Ion Storage Group at the National Institute of Science and Technology in Boulder, Colo. A scientific background on 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics has been prepared by the Class for Physics of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. The work of these two physicists and their colleagues represent some of most profound physics of the 20th century, ranging from the very foundations of quantum mechanics to prospects of new kinds of computing in the 21st century. The latter was first demonstrated by Wineman in 1995 in the Physical Review Letters paper, "Demonstration of a Fundamental Quantum Logic Gate." Haroche and his colleagues have over the years pioneered methods to trap and measure photons in a resonant cavity. Their initial method was first described in 1990 in Physical Review Letters. That and other results were reviewed by Haroche, et. al. in 2001. Haroche also authored the 2008 essay, "Fifty Years of Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics" in Physical Review Letters. more

Powered by MultiBriefs
7701 Las Colinas Blvd., Ste. 800, Irving, TX 75063