From Name:
From Email:
To Name:
To Email:

Optional Message:

Colors of the rainbow

from FAA Safety Briefing via I Fly America

Most of us take vision — including our ability to see colors— for granted. As you might remember from ground school, the retina holds two kinds of photoreceptor cells: rods and cones. The rods are highly sensitive to light so they help a person see in dim light situations but they cannot differentiate between colors. Three types of cones (red, blue and green) provide the ability to perceive color.

The condition commonly called "color blindness," more accurately known as color vision deficiency, is usually an inherited condition caused by a defect in one or more of the cones, and it occurs more commonly in males. However, some pathological conditions can also affect a person's ability to see color. more

Powered by MultiBriefs
7701 Las Colinas Blvd., Ste. 800, Irving, TX 75063