From Name:
From Email:
To Name:
To Email:

Optional Message:

Nominations Open for Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award

Honoring New England Caregivers Who Demonstrate Extraordinary Compassion for Patients
The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare, a nonprofit organization dedicated to strengthening the relationship between patients and their healthcare providers, is seeking nominations for its 2014 Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award®. This prestigious award, given annually since 1999, recognizes caregivers and teams of caregivers who demonstrate extraordinary compassion for patients and families.
Nominees must be paid caregivers who work in a New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont) healthcare organization and have direct patient contact. Nominations may be made by patients or family members or by healthcare professionals who work with the nominee. The recipient receives a $5,000 cash prize, and four finalists receive $1,000 each. All five will be honored at the Kenneth B. Schwartz Compassionate Healthcare Dinner on Thursday, November 20th, at the Boston Convention Center before an audience of more than 2,000 healthcare professionals, patients and family members.
The Center and award are named after Ken Schwartz, a Boston healthcare attorney who died of lung cancer at the age of 40 and found that what mattered to him most was the compassionate care he received from his caregivers, which he said “made the unbearable bearable.” He founded the Schwartz Center in 1995 to ensure that all patients receive compassionate care. Today, the center has programs in more than 350 healthcare institutions across the country. The Schwartz Center encourages the nomination of candidates from a variety of healthcare settings, including hospitals, physician practices, long-term care facilities, community health centers, outpatient clinics, and hospice and home care organizations. Eligible employees may include physicians, nurses, therapists, social workers, psychologists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, certified nursing assistants, home health aides, and chaplains – as well as interdisciplinary teams of caregivers.
In 2013, the Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award was given to Pradeep Chopra, MD, a pain medicine physician at the Interventional Pain Management Center of Rhode Island in Pawtucket, RI. More information on how to nominate a caregiver is available on the Schwartz Center’s website, here.
The nomination deadline is Friday, May 9th. more

Powered by MultiBriefs
7701 Las Colinas Blvd., Ste. 800, Irving, TX 75063