From Name:
From Email:
To Name:
To Email:

Optional Message:

Special Needs Team Safety Roadeo winners announced

Left front & back: First-place team: Jamie Magness & Andrea Gerth (Genessee ISD, Mich.)
Middle front & back: Second-place team: Shelley Johnson & Clayton Terry (Cypress Fairbanks ISD, Texas)
Right front & back: Third-place team: Edith Fairchild & George Sheely (Hays CISD, Texas)
The 20th National Conference & Exhibition on Transporting Students with Disabilities & Preschoolers took place March 11-13 in Kansas City, Mo. The annual event offers a variety of professional growth opportunities, including workshops, a trade show and the Special Needs Team Safety Roadeo.

We are delighted to announce the 2011 Roadeo winners:

First Place — driver Jamie Magness and attendant Andrea Gerth
of Genessee Independent School District, Flint, Mich.

Second Place — driver Clayton Terry and attendant Shelley Johnson
of Cypress Fairbanks Independent School District, Houston.

Third Place — driver George Sheely and attendant Edith Fairchild
of Hays Consolidated Independent School District, Kyle, Texas.

Roadeo teams are judged on driving and backing a bus, loading, unloading, evacuating and securing students in wheelchairs. Teams must maintain behavioral control of special needs students on the bus. The competition also includes an open-book exam.

The Roadeo is co-managed by Edupro Group and the National Association for Pupil Transportation. The event is hosted by the National Conference & Exhibition on Transporting Students with Disabilities & Preschoolers.

Sure-Lok, a leading manufacturer of wheelchair and occupant restraint systems, was the principal event sponsor and awards banquet host. For more information, please visit

Congratulations to all who participated in the 14th National Special Needs Team Safety Roadeo! more

Powered by MultiBriefs
7701 Las Colinas Blvd., Ste. 800, Irving, TX 75063