From Name:
From Email:
To Name:
To Email:

Optional Message:

New award recognizes exemplary research made possible by ocean drilling

from American Geophysical Union

The American Geophysical Union has announced the establishment of a new award, the Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize, which will be given "in recognition of outstanding transdiciplinary research accomplishment in ocean drilling." The prize is given in honor of Dr. Asahiko Taira of the Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, and it is made possible through a generous donation from the Integrated Ocean Drilling Program Management International.

The prize will be given annually, and the presentation venue will alternate between meetings of AGU and the Japan Geoscience Union, with the inaugural prize being presented at the 2015 AGU Fall Meeting in San Francisco. The honorees, who must be within 15 years of earning their Ph.D., will receive $18,000 and the opportunity to present a lecture at the meeting where the award is presented. more

Powered by MultiBriefs
7701 Las Colinas Blvd., Ste. 800, Irving, TX 75063