From Name:
From Email:
To Name:
To Email:

Optional Message:

TOS honors leaders in the field with 2015 Awards

from TOS

Richard Atkinson, MD, accepts Mickey Stunkard Award in 2014
The Obesity Society is pleased to announce that the following individuals have been selected by the Awards Committee to receive the Society's highest honors for their significant contributions to the field of obesity.
  • 2015 TOPS Research Achievement Award recognizes an individual for singular achievement or contribution to research in the field of obesity.
      Andrew Greenberg, MD, FTOS
      Tufts University
      Human Nutrition Research Center
  • 2015 Lilly Scientific Achievement Award recognizes excellence in an established research career and is made possible through an annual grant from the Eli Lilly Pharmaceutical Company.
      Dongsheng Cai, MD
      Albert Einstein College of Medicine
  • 2015 Mickey Stunkard Lifetime Achievement Award, in remembrance of Albert (Mickey) Stunkard, is designed to recognize people who, like Mickey, have made a lifetime of outstanding contributions to the field of obesity in terms of scholarship, mentorship and education.
      Thorkild I. Sorenson, MD, ScD
      Institute of Preventive Medicine
      Bispebjerg and Frederiskberg Hospitals
  • 2015 George A. Bray Founders Award recognizes an individual for significant contributions that advance the scientific or clinical basis for understanding or treating obesity and for extensive involvement with the Society.
      Samuel Klein, MD, FTOS
      Washington University, School Of Medicine
      Center for Human Nutrition
  • 2015 Atkinson-Stern Award for Distinguished Public Service recognizes an individual or organization whose work has significantly improved the lives of those affected by obesity, whether through research, public policy, patient care, or other means.
      Louis J. Aronne, MD, FTOS
      Weill Cornell Medical College
      Department of Medicine
  • 2015 Ethan Sims Young Investigator Award Finalists recognizes excellence in research by young investigators based on their submitted abstracts and presentation during the Annual Scientific Meeting.
    • Vance L. Albaugh, MD, PhD
    • Charlotte C. Ronveaux, PhD
    • David J. Hume, BSc
    • Aditya J. Desai, PhD
    • Clare H. Llewellyn, MA, GDip, MSc, PhD
  • These prestigious awards will be presented at ObesityWeek 2015, Nov. 2 - 6 in Los Angeles. Congratulations to all on this well-deserved honor! more

    Powered by MultiBriefs
    7701 Las Colinas Blvd., Ste. 800, Irving, TX 75063